May 24, 2024  
2017-2018 CSU East Bay Catalog 
2017-2018 CSU East Bay Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Foundational Mathematics Teaching Certificate

Department & Faculty Information  

The Foundational Mathematics certificate program is designed for students who would like to teach middle school math or would like to become K-8 math specialists. Credentialed teachers who complete this program and pass the Math CSET I and II exams qualify for the Foundationallevel Added Authorization in Mathematics.

Candidate for this program should have or plan to obtain their Multiple Subjects teaching credential or a Single Subject teaching credential in a subject other than mathematics. Students who complete this program will be well prepared to teach mathematics at the K-8 level, will have completed the State required Methods Courses in Single Subject Mathematics and will have the content knowledge required to pass the Math CSET I and II exams.

The certificate consists of 21 units.



Students who complete the Foundational Mathematics Teaching Certificate program will still need to pass the first two math CSET exams to establish subject matter competency for the credential.

Course Descriptions

Use this link to see all Course Descriptions  available throughout this catalog.