Apr 20, 2024  
2017-2018 CSU East Bay Catalog 
2017-2018 CSU East Bay Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

More Information on Semester Conversion 2018

Department of Computer Science

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs of Study by Department

Hayward Hills Campus MapThe Department Office is located on the 5th Floor of the Student and Faculty Support (SF) building, Room 570.
Hours Open: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Dept. Phone: (510) 885-4300


Professors Emeriti

Ytha Y. Yu, Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley


Associate Professor Emeritus

Dan Jurca, Ph.D. Northwestern University



Kevin A. Brown, Ph.D. University of South Carolina

Leann Christianson, Ph.D. University of South Carolina

Levent Ertaul, Ph.D. University of Sussex (United Kingdom)

Lynne L. Grewe, Ph.D. Purdue University

C. Matthew Johnson (Chair), Ph.D. College of William and Mary


Associate Professors

Farzan Roohparvar, Ph.D. Iowa State University

David Yang, Ph.D. Columbia University


Assistant Professors

Varick Erickson, Ph.D. University of California, Merced

Jiaofei Zhong, Ph.D. The University of Texas at Dallas


Computer Science M.S. Graduate Coordinator: Kevin Brown

Computer Networks M.S. Graduate Coordinator: Leann Christianson


Department Statement

The Computer Science Department is a large and flourishing department, offering a variety of courses at a variety of times. The department consists of diverse full-time faculty, with a wide range of backgrounds and interests. The department offers over 40 undergraduate CS courses, 30 graduate CS courses. The department strives to provide a quality education to a diverse student community, and serves as one of the larger majors on campus.

Awards & Scholarships


MS Program Advising



    Bachelor of ScienceMaster of ScienceMinor

    Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Programs of Study by Department