Feb 21, 2024  
2023-2024 Cal State East Bay Catalog 
2023-2024 Cal State East Bay Catalog

Administration & Administrative Staff

University Website Directory

Our Mission
Cal State East Bay welcomes and supports a diverse student body with academically rich, culturally relevant, learning experiences that prepare students to apply their education to meaningful lifework, and to be socially responsible contributors to society.  Through its educational programs and activities the University strives to meet the educational needs and to contribute to the vitality of the East Bay, the state, the nation, and global communities.

Office of the President

President, Cathy Sandeen

  • Executive Assistant to the President: Anthony Tabinas (Interim)
  • Special Assistant to the President: Balvinder Kumar
  • Title IX/ DHR Coordinator: Terri LaBeaux
  • Title IX Office Support: Ellen Maloney-Ruhe

Chief of Staff: Derek J. Aitken

  • Executive Assistant to the Chief of Staff: Andrea Lum
  • AVP Director of Athletics: Allison Kern
  • Associate Director, Government and Community Relations: Vacant

University Diversity Officer: Kathleen Wong (Lau)

  • Confidential Office Support: Lisa Thomas



Academic Affairs

  • Interim Provost and Vice President, Academic Affairs: Kimberly Greer
  • Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs: Silvina Ituarte
    • Director, Faculty Development: Keri O’Neill
    • Director, Center for Community Engagement: Mary D’Alleva
    • Faculty Affairs Executive Assistant: Sophie Bloch
    • Assistant to Associate Provost for Faculty Affairs: Kelley Ramos
    • Faculty Immigration Advisor & Recruitment Specialist: Karen Ling
    • Coordinator, Academic Senate: Mark Robinson
  • Deputy Provost for Academic Resources and Planning: Rafael Hernandez
    • Assistant Vice President, Institutional Research, Analysis and Decision Support: Fanny Yeung
    • Director, Compliance and Standards: Jeanne Dittman
    • Director, Fiscal Resources: Jennifer Toor
    • Coordinator, University Scheduling: Dayanna Arriola-Orozco
  • Dean of Academic Programs & Services: Maureen Scharberg
    • Associate Dean, Academic Programs & Services: Mitchell Watnik
      • Assessment & Program Review: Julie Stein
      • Articulation Officer: Kyle Burch
      • University Curriculum Coordinator/Catalog and Curriculum Specialist: Rick Rader
      • University Catalog Editor/Curriculum Specialist: Julie Mielke
      • Roadmaps Editor/Degree Planner Specialist: Clarissa Hernandez
    • Bay Advisor: Bill Irwin
    • Peer Academic Coaching: Marissa Baumann
    • Grade Appeals: Erica Wildy
    • Interim Director of Academic Advising: Jennifer Aure
    • Director, General Education: Kevin Kaatz
    • Chair, General Studies: Danvy Lee
    • Director, Graduate Studies: Kevin Brown
  • Associate Vice President (Interim), University Extension: Balvinder Kumar
    • Director, Continuing Education Programs: Kate White
    • Manager, Special Sessions Programs: Interim, Richard Moala
    • Director, Marketing: Dan Bellone
    • Executive Director, International Programs: Thomas Tyner
    • Director, Center for International Education: Kelly Moran
    • Operations Coordinator: Cecilia Zefeldt
    • Manager, Oakland Center: Kevin Kenny
  • Associate Vice President, Research and Sponsored Programs: Chandra Khan
    • Director, Grant Administration: Jennifer Cabrejas
    • Director, Center for Student Research: Jennifer Sherwood

College Deans, University Libraries, Department Chairs, and Program Directors

College of Letters, Arts, and Social Sciences  
School of Arts and Media (SAM)
School of Global Humanities and Cultural Studies
College of Business and Economics  
College of Education and Allied Studies  
College of Science  
University Libraries  
  • Dean: John Wenzler
    • Coordinator, Instructional Services: TBA
    • Coordinator, Information Literacy Services: Diana Wakimoto
    • Chair, Library Faculty: Gr Keer (Interim)
Student Center for Academic Achievement
  • Director:  Shonda Goward

Academic Senate

  • Chair, Academic Senate: Christina Chin-Newman
    • Academic Senate Coordinator: Mark Robinson
    • University Honors Program: Shubha Kashinath 

Administration & Finance

Vice President, Administration and Finance/CFO: Myeshia Armstrong

Executive Assistant to the Vice President: Dwyla Jourdan

  • Chief University Police: Omar Miakhail (Interim)
  • Associate Vice President, Facilities Development and Operations: Winnie Kwofie
  • Associate Vice President, Financial Services: Maureen Pasag
  • Associate Vice President, Human Resources and Payroll Services: André Johnson
  • Associate Vice President Information Technology Services & CIO: Jake Hornsby
  • Senior Director, Online Campus: Roger Wen

  • Director, Risk Management and Internal Control: Tom Poon
  • Director, Administrative Processes: Veronica Salvador

Student Affairs

Vice President, Student Affairs and Enrollment Management: Suzanne Espinoza

  • Associate Vice President, Equity & Belonging/Dean of Students: Martin Castillo
    • Executive Director, Associated Students Incorporated (ASI): James Carroll
    • Director, EOP and Student Equity and Success Advising: Antonio Martinez
      • Educational Opportunity Program (EOP)
      • Renaissance Scholars Program
    • Director, Affinity Programs and SEAS Engagement Initiatives, Jose Padilla
      • Asian American Pacific Islander Program 
      • EXCEL Program
      • GANAS Program
      • Sankofa Scholars
    • Director, Diversity & Inclusion Student Affinity & Resource Centers (DISARC): Cookie Garrett
    • Director, Student Conduct, Rights and Responsibilities: Heather Gardley
    • Director, Student Life and Leadership: Krystle Tonga
  • Associate Vice President, Student Affairs and Auxiliary Services: Mark Almeida
    • Executive Director, University Housing and Commercial Services, My-Lan Huynh
    • Director, Accessibility Services and Veteran Student Services: Pamela Baird
    • Director, Recreation, Wellness Services and University Union: Jennifer Luna
  • Associate Vice President, Enrollment Management: Angela Schneider
    • Director, Admissions: Alvin Quach
    • Director, Financial Aid: Sonia Jethani
    • Director, Student Outreach: Katie Avila
    • Director, Enrollment Management Systems, Manuel Saldanha
    • University Registrar: Karen Mucci
  • Director, Student Health Services, Emil Asadulla
  • Director, Counseling Services: Shauna Hong
    • CARE Case Manager
    • Confidential Advocate
  • Director, Budget and Operations: Fa’aalu Lealaimatafao

University Advancement

Vice President, University Advancement: Evelyn Buchanan

Executive Assistant to the Vice President: Ashley Smith

  • Associate Vice President, Development: Vacant
  • Chief Communications & Marketing Officer: Vacant
  • Director, Advancement Services & Data Analytics: Fern Tyler
  • Director, Advancement Budget, Operations & Foundation; May Hernandez
  • Director, Alumni and Constituent Engagement: Travis Nelson
  • Director, University Events: Chris Williams

Cal State East Bay Educational Foundation Board


Evelyn Buchanan, President
Bette Felton, Chair
Johan Klehs, Vice Chair
Myeshia Armstrong, Treasurer
James Songey, Secretary


Ashmita Ahluwalia (Student Trustee)

Ruth Bley
Richard Carson
Michael Coke
Randall Davis

Patrick Devine (Immediate Past Chair)

Evelyn Dilsaver
James Hannan
Walt Jacobs

Derek Jackson-Kimball (Faculty Trustee)

Kumar Malavalli
Louis Miramontes
Nitu Nanda
Cherrie Nanninga
Janet Owen
Marvin Remmich
Linda Renteria
Rosie Rios

Michelle Rippy (Alumni Trustee)
Cathy A. Sandeen
Amy Schioldager
Robert Scribner
Richard Sherratt
Gary Wallace
Allen Warren