Jul 10, 2020  
2016-2017 CSU East Bay Catalog 
2016-2017 CSU East Bay Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

More Information on Semester Conversion 2018

Department of Political Science

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Letters, Arts, and Social Sciences

Department of Political Science Website

Hayward Hills Campus MapThe Department Office is located on 4th Floor of the Meiklejohn Hall building, Room 4094
Office Hours: 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday
Dept Phone: (510) 885-3221


Professor Emeritus

David Sadofsky Baggins, Ph.D. Syracuse University



Kim Geron (Chair), Ph.D. University of California, Riverside

Associate Professors

Elizabeth Bergman, Ph.D. Claremont Graduate University

Maria C. Ortuoste, Ph.D. Arizona State University


Assistant Professors

Jeremiah Garretson, Ph.D. Vanderbilt University

Danvy Le, Ph.D. University of California, Irvine


Department Statement

The Department of Political Science offers a B.A. degree that gives both a strong background in social science and excellent professional preparation. The major offers three distinct paths to completion, the traditional major and options in pre-law and public affairs and administration. The two options offer interdisciplinary pre-professional curricula. The department is strong in every aspect of American government (national, state, and local institutions, public policy, public law, and public administration), as well as Comparative Politics in international relations.  Political Science majors learn to be strong writers, public speakers, and researchers. Opportunities are also offered to learn advanced social science methodolog y and practical political skills, as well as to participate in faculty research. Students receive assistance in finding - and credit for completing - local, state, and national internships.  Graduating seniors report very high levels of satisfaction with the major, and the number of Political Science majors continues to grow.


Reference Links



    Bachelor of ArtsMinor

    Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: College of Letters, Arts, and Social Sciences