May 15, 2021  
2019-2020 Cal State East Bay Catalog 
2019-2020 Cal State East Bay Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Communication

Hayward Hills Campus MapThe Department Office is located on the 3rd Floor of the Meiklejohn Hall building, Room 3011.
Open 8:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Dept. Phone: (510) 885-3292



Edward S. Inch, Ph.D. University of Washington

Grant Kien, Ph.D. University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign


Associate Professors

Katherine M. Bell, Ph.D. University of Washington

Lonny J. Brooks, Ph.D. University of California, San Diego

Mary Cardaras (Chair), Ph.D. Northeastern University

Yung-I Liu, Ph.D. Ohio State University

Terry L. West, Ph.D. Southern Illinois University (FERP)


Assistant Professors

Anita Chang, Ph.D. University of California, Santa Cruz

William Lawson, Ph.D. Florida State University

Benjamin Smith, Ph.D. University of California, Santa Barbara

Mission Statement

Graduates will be able to make a positive, professional, and important contribution in the field of communication (Media Environments; Organizational Contexts; and Graduate School) by becoming inclusive, ethical, and effective leaders and participants in global and local communities.

About the Department

Use our university website link to learn more about what the Communication Department has to offer.

  • Scholarships
  • Faculty Profiles
  • Activities & Organizations
  • Media
  • The Pioneer Online
  • Pioneer Web TV
  • School of the Arts and Media
  • Advising
  • And more…


    Bachelor of Arts


    Master of Arts


      CommunicationCommunication: Graduate