Feb 05, 2023  
2020-2021 Cal State East Bay Catalog 
2020-2021 Cal State East Bay Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Department of Computer Science

Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges, Departments, and Libraries

Hayward Hills Campus MapThe Department Office is located on the 5th Floor of the Student and Faculty Support (SF) building, Room 570.
Hours Open: 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday through Friday.
Dept. Phone: (510) 885-4300



Kevin A. Brown, Ph.D. University of South Carolina

Leann Christianson, Ph.D. University of South Carolina

Levent Ertaul (Chair), Ph.D. University of Sussex (United Kingdom)

Lynne L. Grewe, Ph.D. Purdue University

C. Matthew Johnson, Ph.D. College of William and Mary

Associate Professors

Farzan Roohparvar, Ph.D. Iowa State University

David Yang, Ph.D. Columbia University

Jiaofei Zhong, Ph.D. The University of Texas at Dallas

Assistant Professors

Moayed Daneshyari, Ph.D. Oklahoma State University

Zahra Derakhshandeh, Ph.D. Arizona State University

Varick Erickson, Ph.D. University of California, Merced

Xiaojun Ruan, Ph.D. Auburn University


Graduate Coordinator
  • Kevin Brown


Department Statement

The Computer Science Department is a large and flourishing department, offering a variety of courses at a variety of times. The Department consists of diverse full-time faculty, with a wide range of backgrounds and interests. The Department offers over 25 undergraduate CS courses and over 25 graduate CS courses. The Department strives to provide a quality education to a diverse student community, and serves as one of the larger majors on campus.

About the Department

Use our university website link to learn more about what the Computer Science Department has to offer.

  • Awards & Scholarships
  • Resources
  • PhD Graduate School Information
  • Computer Science Professional Societies
  • Advising & Student Services
  • And more…


    Bachelor of Science


    Master of Science


      Computer ScienceComputer Science: Graduate

      Return to {$returnto_text} Return to: Colleges, Departments, and Libraries